Russell, others hope to be added to federal disaster declaration

Kentucky Emergency Management has requested that 10 more counties, including Russell and several neighboring counties, be added to the major disaster declaration issued last month, due to severe storms and straight-line winds back in early March.

Currently, federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations in 76 of Kentucky’s 120 counties on a cost-sharing basis, for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities that were damaged during that time.

Neighboring Adair, Casey, and Cumberland counties are among the 76 counties already in line to receive some federal financial assistance. Clinton, Pulaski, and Wayne counties join Russell County among the 10 counties the state is requesting to add to the declaration.

Individual assistance is not included in the current disaster declaration.