Russell County reports just 3 new COVID cases; Wayne Co. highest in region with 25

There were three new COVID-19 cases in Russell County this week, a decrease of one from last week’s total of four, according to the Kentucky Department for Public Health.

Looking at other counties in the Lake Cumberland District, Wayne County had the most with 25 cases, Pulaski County had 11 cases, Taylor County had nine cases, Clinton County had seven cases, McCreary County and Adair County each reported five cases, Casey County reported four cases, Green County had two cases, and Cumberland County reported just one case.

Russell County and the rest of the 10-county Lake Cumberland District remain “green” this week with virus spread as the region continues to have the lowest level of COVID-19 spread. Only Bracken, Mason, and Fleming counties in northeastern Kentucky have the medium level of virus spread and are considered “yellow”.

Kentucky’s current incidence rate, per 100,000 population, is 3.65 percent. Statewide, there were 992 new cases and 55 newly reported deaths this week.