With the spring forest fire season set to begin, the Kentucky Division of Forestry has issued a statewide burn ban to go into effect, starting Wednesday, February 15th through April 30th.
Beginning Wednesday, no burning is allowed from 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. The law states that it is unlawful for any person to set fire to any flammable material capable of spreading fire located in or within 150 feet of any woodland or brushland except between the hours of 6 p.m. and 6 a.m., or when the ground is covered in snow.
Also, when burning this time of year, all fires should be attended until extinguished.
The Division of Forestry responds to more than 1,000 wildfires annually across the state. Studies show that 99 percent of all wildfires in Kentucky are from human activity. Arsonists start over half of the wildfires, and the second leading cause is debris fires that escape. If a fire escapes from the burning of debris, immediately contact the nearest Division of Forestry field office, or the local fire department.