Russell County resident among KSP Telecommunications graduates

Sydney Perkins, right, is a graduate of the KSP Telecommunicator Academy

Gov. Andy Beshear and the Kentucky State Police announced that 16 telecommunicators representing 11 posts located throughout the commonwealth have graduated KSP’s in-house telecommunications academy.

The Post 15 graduates of the 18th KSP Telecommunications Academy included:

Sydney Perkins, of Russell County. Perkins is a graduate of Southwestern High School. She is married to her husband Markus Perkins.

Abigale Morgan, of Pulaski County. Morgan is a graduate of Pulaski County High School. She is the daughter of Donna Condon and Mike Morgan.

Shawna Hannie, of Adair County. Hannie is a graduate of North Laurel High School and Lidsey Wilson College. She is married to Quinton Hannie and is the daughter of Judy and James Ulrich.

The graduates of Class 18 received 196 hours of instruction over five weeks. Major training areas include legal liability, limits of telecommunicator authority, telecommunicator’s role in public safety, interpersonal communications, customer service, combating stress, ethics and confidentiality, responder safety, essential fire dispatch, state emergency operations plans, criminal justice information systems, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, first aid training, emergency medical dispatch and special needs callers.

During the academy, graduates were required to successfully process scripted calls for service and demonstrate proficiency in obtaining pertinent information, dispatching responders, providing emergency medical dispatch if needed and correctly documenting information from the call for assistance. The training concluded with a computer simulation system that simulates a real-life work environment in the radio room.

About Zac Oakes 5146 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.