RCHS students chosen for Governor’s Scholar Program

Three Russell County High School students were chosen to attend the Governor’s Scholars Program, along with two alternates.

Gage Carnes, Morgan Jones, and Landon Walters were chosen for the program, and Mills Clark and Makayla Melson were chosen as alternates.

The program is a five-week program over the summer for students between their junior and senior years of high school.

It is held at three different colleges across the state of Kentucky every year. The program is highly competitive with about a 50% acceptance rate.

In order to get accepted, prospective juniors must have high academic achievement, including standardized test scores, and be active in the community.

About Zac Oakes 4454 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for LakerCountry.com and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.