Nomination Meeting for District 9 Wildlife Commissioners Position is Thursday

The meeting will be at 6:30 central time Thursday at the Center for Rural Development in Somerset. Karl Clinard currently holds the voluntary position and can serve one more four-year term. The 9th Wildlife District is comprised of Russell, Wayne, Clinton, McCreary, Pulaski, Bell, Clay, Jackson, Knox and Laurel counties.

Up to eight people can be nominated by residents of the 9th District who for the past two consecutive years have either purchased a Kentucky hunting or fishing license. Should there be over five nominees, voting will take place to bring the number to five to submit to Governor Matt Bevin. The governor will then appoint one of the individuals to a term ending in August 2023, subject to Kentucky Senate confirmation.

Representation from Frankfort is expected at Thursday night’s meeting and all sportsmen and women are encouraged to attend. The doors at the Center open at 5:00 pm central time Thursday evening and will close at 6:30 central time for the duration of the meeting.

About Sean Hammond 2904 Articles
Sean Hammond is the host of "Sean at Dawn Monday thru Friday from 5:00 to 9:00 am and a contributor to