Swim team starts season strong

The Laker Swim & Dive Teams kicked off their 2023-24 Season this past Saturday as they hosted their annual Fall Preview.  23 teams consisting of 258 athletes converged on the Russell County Natatorium.

The Lakers swam to a hard fought Combined 3rd Place Finish.

                Combined                           Girls                                                      Boys

1st           Central Hardin                   Central Hardin Central                    Marion County

2nd          Marion County                  Allen County – Scottsville              Central Hardin

3rd           Russell County                   Russell County                                   Russell County

High Point Award Winners:

Alexa Stephens                  Junior Girl

Marlei DeVore                   Sophomore Girl

Jacob Phillips                      Sophomore Boy (Overall High Point Winner for Meet)

Ethan Hart                           Eighth Grade Boy

The Lady Lakers were led to overall 3rd place finish by Junior Alexa Stephens and Sophomore, Marlei Devore.  Stephens captures finishes of 2nd, 3rd, 5th, & 6th in her 4 events on the day scoring 59.50 points for the Lakers.  Devore finished in 2nd, 4th 5th, & 10th in her events adding 53 points to the Lady Lakers point total.  Blair Brummet (Freshman) also contributed 20 points in the meet with finishes of 5th, 13th, & 16th in her top 3 events.

The Laker Boys also finished 3rd on the Boy’s side, led by Sophomore Jacob Phillips, Sophomore Ben Kislan, and 8th Grader Ethan Hart.  Phillips led the team in points with 77 by winning 3 of his 4 events.  Jacob Phillips set new meet records in the 50 Butterfly and the 100 Individual Medley.   Kislan scored 26.6 points for the boys with top 16 places in each of his 4 events on the day.  Ethan Hart was 3rd in scoring for the Lakers with 25 by finishing top 14 finishes in each of his events.

Overall, the Lakers had 24 out of 34 swimmers achieve personal bests in 62 events they swam.

High point award winners were Ethan Hart, Jacob Phillips, Alexa Stephens, and Marlei DeVore
About Zac Oakes 5180 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for LakerCountry.com and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.