RCHS soccer teams are 16th District champions

The Russell County Laker and Lady Laker Soccer teams are once again 16th District champions.

The Lakers defeated Monroe County and the Lady Lakers defeated Clinton County with each team coming out on top 10-0 to claim the championships.

That makes three championships in a row for the Lakers and back-to-back district titles for the Lady Lakers.

The Lakers got out to the early lead in the first game, reaching the 10-goal lead to finish the game midway through the second half.

Taven Foley led Russell County with three goals. Yarley Medrano, Will Pratt, Dawson Bradshaw, Mynor Chic Radilla, Ernesto Zapata, Cameron Brown, and Dakota Blevins each scored a goal in the win as well.

Chance Betts, Andre Perez, Mynor Chic Radilla, Elijah Grayum, Xavi Medrano, Cameron Brown, Giovanni Gomez, Diego Gomez, Berkeley Clark each had an assist.

Pratt, Zapata, and Bradshaw were named to the All-Tournament team. Foley was named Tournament MVP.

In the second game of the day, Adriana Thomas and Madison Weisbrodt each scored three goals to lead the Lady Lakers to victory.

Trysta Troxtle scored a pair of goals, and Madison Bennett and Marissa Hatchett each added another.

Weisbrodt had 4 assists on the day, and goalkeeper Liz Evans had 1 save.

The RCHS teams now wait to see their matchups for the 4th Region tournaments.

The district tournaments will wrap up on Thursday.

About Zac Oakes 4801 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for LakerCountry.com and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.