Russell County added to federal disaster declaration from March storms

Russell County has been added to the list of counties for federal public assistance from the March storms that brought high winds and knocked out power to more than 5,000 Russell County homes and businesses.

The declaration means federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities that were damaged during that time.

Russell County was not initially included in the list, but WJRS News is told that was due to miscommunication between emergency management and utility companies on how to report the value of damages.

Clinton, Pulaski, and Wayne counties were also included in the additional counties added to the declaration.


About Zac Oakes 4454 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.