Russell County SNAP recipients eligible for replacement benefits after storms

Federal approval for 31 counties, including Russell County, has been granted to replace food purchased from the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program that was lost due to power outages caused by the March 3 storms.

SNAP recipients locally and in neighboring Clinton and Wayne counties and nearby McCreary and Monroe counties are among those recipients eligible.

Forty percent replacement of SNAP benefits received Feb. 1-28 are available. Funds will be available in program members’ EBT accounts.

SNAP recipients who have already requested and received a manual replacement because of the severe March 3 storms will not receive an automatic replacement.