Russell County labeled yellow on new COVID map

Russell County is yellow on the new COVID map released by the Kentucky Department for Public Health on Friday.

The vast majority of the state is either in the yellow or red categories, indicating a medium or high COVID-19 community level.

Only seven counties across the state are in the green, or low level of community spread. That includes Adair County and nearby McCreary County.

Neighboring Cumberland County is in the red, while the remainder of the neighboring counties join Russell in the yellow category.

The Department for Public Health will release last week’s COVID-19 numbers by county this evening, and we’ll have an update on those numbers on tomorrow’s local news.

About Zac Oakes 5417 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.