Candidate filing deadline passes, new filings for Jamestown and Russell Springs Councils

Yesterday was the final day to file for city offices.

Johnny Bell filed for a seat on the Russell Springs City Council.

Bell joins incumbents Ricky Barnes, David Blakey, Sherry Bottom-Daniel, Tommy Holt, and Timmy Hudson, along with fellow challengers Cody L. Wilson and Larry “Gene” Brown vying for six seats on the council.

In Jamestown, Jared Roy filed for city council. He joins incumbents William Murray, Terry Robertson, Tony H. Wright, Barry Coffey, Ada Lawson, and Mitchell Marcum, along with fellow challenger Dwight W. Richards vying for six seats on the council.

Jamestown will have a contested mayor’s race with current mayor Regena Hinton running against Richard Bennett.

Russell Springs Mayor Eddie Thomas will be unopposed in November.

The drawing for ballot position will be held tomorrow at 2 p.m. in the 2nd floor courtroom of the old courthouse.

Everyone is welcome to attend.


About Zac Oakes 4773 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.