January is School Board Recognition Month

As Kentucky observes School Board Recognition Month in January, Russell County Schools are joining in the celebration.

Sheila Whicker, Dick Kazsuk, Brenda Higginbotham, Joy Wilson, and Gerald Murray are among the more than 850 school board members in the state’s 171 local school districts being recognized this month for their service.

This is the perfect time to thank school board members for serving in a role that has become increasingly complex, said Ronnie Holmes, president of the Kentucky School Boards Association and chairman of the Graves County school board.

“Members of the Russell County Board of Education are responsible for making decisions aimed at ensuring that every child in their district has a chance to be successful both in school and in life,” Holmes said. “To do that, members oversee the school district’s budget, keep up with changing education laws and policies, and spend hours on professional learning and state-mandated training.”

The voters in Russell County have elected these local leaders, who work to give every child in every classroom access to high quality teaching and learning, said Russell County Schools Superintendent Michael Ford.

“At a time when state and federal funding continues to shrink, our school board members haven’t flinched in the face of the challenges or shied away from their responsibilities,” Ford said. “Our community can be very proud of this team of board members, and I’m proud to be their partner in striving for education excellence for our children.”

A special meal is being held before the school board’s monthly meeting on Monday to recognize and honor the members of the Russell County School Board.

Also, during January, Kentucky School Board Association is asking people to use social media to share appreciation of school board members by using the hashtag #LoveKySchoolBoards.



About Zac Oakes 3336 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for LakerCountry.com and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.