KSP to have checkpoints as new year begins

With the new year underway, Kentucky State Police Post 15 will be conducting periodic traffic safety checkpoints in the Post 15 area, which includes Russell, Green, Taylor, Marion, Washington, Casey, Adair, Metcalfe, Monroe, Clinton, and Cumberland counties.

Checkpoint locations in Russell County include the following: Old Rowena and State Park Road, KY 80 East and Owenstown Road, KY 379 at KY 92, KY 619 at KY 1680, KY 3525 at KY 910, Maple Street and Lakeway Drive, and US 127 at the Casey-Russell County line.

These checkpoints are conducted as part of Post 15’s highway safety efforts. Troopers will be checking for violations of Kentucky traffic and regulatory laws relating to motor vehicle equipment safety, licensing of drivers, motor vehicle registration, and operation of motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants.