KYTC wants public involvement in ‘Name the Plow’ program

The Kentucky Transportation Cabinet is holding their first statewide “Name the Plow” program, giving drivers a chance to name one of 14 snow trucks in the state.

One truck will be named in each of Kentucky’s 12 highway districts, including District 8 in Somerset which oversees operations in Russell County. The name will be displayed on the vehicle so residents can see it while it’s out for pre-treating and plowing activities.

Kentucky residents of all ages can submit names now through Dec. 2 by completing this online form:

KYTC staff will vote on the winning names, and winners will be announced in early January. Entry rules are posted on the form.