RCHS Soccer teams are 16th District champions

It was a big weekend for Russell County High School Soccer as the Laker and Lady Laker Soccer teams claimed district titles.

The Laker soccer team took down Monroe County 8-0 on Saturday to claim the district championship for the second year in a row.

Taven Roy-Foley scored three goals for the Lakers, while Dawson Bradshaw scored two and Carlos Gomez, Will Pratt, and Alex Maradiaga each scored a goal.

Gomez and Pratt each had a pair of assists, while Alex and Geison Maradiaga and Xavier Betts-Jimenez each finished with an assist.

Bradhsaw, Pratt, and Diego Gomez combined for eight saves.

Ernesto Zapata, Betts-Jimenez, and Carlos Gomez were named to the All-District team. Bradshaw was named Tournament MVP.

The Lady Lakers claimed the district championship with a 5-2 win over Monroe County on Saturday.

Maddison Weisbrodt scored a pair of goals in the win, while Lily Smith, Abigail Money and Adriana Thomas each scored a goal as well.

Weisbrodt, Money, and Marissa Hatchett each finished with an assist.

Jasmine Bennett and Liz Evans combined for 11 saves in the win while only allowing two goals.

Thomas, Maddison Weisbrodt and Jozelynne Weisbrodt were named to the All-District Team and Hatchett was named tournament MVP.

About Zac Oakes 5587 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for LakerCountry.com and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.