Russell County drops to “green” in COVID spread level this week

Russell County is now “green” in the latest COVID community level map released by the state’s department for public health.

In the Lake Cumberland District, Adair, Green, Clinton and Cumberland counties join Russell County in the “green” category, indicating a low level of community spread. Wayne County is the lone county in the district in the “red” category, indicating a high level of community spread.

Taylor, McCreary, Pulaski, and Casey County are in the “yellow” category, meaning a medium level of virus spread.

Much more of the state is in the low and medium level of virus spread this week with just 22 counties statewide in the “red” category, with the majority of those in the eastern part of the state.