Polston, incumbents fare well on Election Night

It was a good night for incumbent candidates in Russell County as each incumbent candidate won re-election.

In the Russell County Sheriff’s Race, Derek Polston won by receiving 5,618 votes compared to Nick Bertram’s 1,176.

In the race for Coroner, Mark Coots won by receiving 4,781 votes compared to Clifton Bunch’s 1,935.

Incumbent magistrates Terry Waddell, Mickey Garner, and Steve Richardson all won their re-election bids.

And in the constable races, Jeff Aaron (District 1), Greg Hammond (District 4), and Richard Wooldridge (District 5) all were victorious.

In the race for District 3 Magistrate, Zach Wilson came away victorious receiving 911 votes, and in District 5, Larry Skaggs won by receiving 396 votes.

In the race for United States Senator, Republican Rand Paul won the party’s nomination and won big in Russell County, garnering 84.7 percent of the vote.

On the Democrat side, Charles Booker won his party’s nomination and also won big in Russell County, finishing with about 64 percent of the vote.

About Zac Oakes 4782 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for LakerCountry.com and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.