Adair, Casey, and Cumberland counties named in federal major disaster declaration from early March storms

Russell County was not among the 76 Kentucky counties listed in President Biden’s major disaster declaration for the storms that came through the area on March 3 and 4.

While Russell County was not included in the list, neighboring Adair, Casey, and Cumberland counties were.

The declaration means federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities that were damaged during that time.

Those storms did cause notable damage in Russell County, knocking out power to nearly 5,000 homes and businesses locally, in which it took crews nearly a week to restore due to storm damage.


About Zac Oakes 3945 Articles
Zac Oakes is the News and Sports Director for and Laker Country WJRS 104.9 FM.