Burkesville certified as 26th Kentucky Trail Town

The city of Burkesville in neighboring Cumberland County has officially been certified as the 26th Kentucky Trail Town in the state, according to the department of parks.

Burkesville joins Jamestown here in Russell County, as well as Columbia, Campbellsville, London, Stearns, Cave City and Horse Cave, Elizabethtown, and a host of other cities as Kentucky Trail Towns.

The Kentucky Trail Town Program is a tourism and economic development program designed to provide a strategic plan for communities to capitalize on travel opportunities within a respective community. Formerly managed in the Department of Tourism, the Trail Town Program is now overseen by the Kentucky Department of Parks.

The highlight of the Trail Town offerings in Burkesville center around the Cumberland River and the connection to their downtown area. Burkesville is also home to Dale Hollow Lake State Resort Park.