Russell County maintains ‘yellow’ COVID status

Russell County continues to stay “yellow” in the latest COVID community level map released by the state’s department for public health.

In the Lake Cumberland District, McCreary, Pulaski, Casey, Taylor, Clinton and Cumberland counties join Russell County in the yellow category, indicating a medium level of community spread. Wayne County is the lone county in the district in the red category, indicating a high level of community spread.

Both neighboring Adair County and nearby Green County are in the green category, meaning a low level of virus spread.

Much of the eastern and central parts of the state continue to be in the red or yellow categories, while 31 counties statewide are in the green.

Most of those are in the western and northern portions of the state.